Time To Take Care Of Drake… Breakdown Of The New Album

Review time, but since there are i’m sure close to hundreds of Take Care album reviews i’m not going to go through every song and make you read my personal breakdown (even though i’m sure you are on the edge of your seat waiting to know what I think) instead i’m going to give you the highlights, lowlights, and important aspects within the album.

Okay first things first, with Drake most people are most concerned with which songs Drizzy is singing on and which he raps, so here you go….

1. Over My Dead Body – Raps
2. Shot For Me- Sings
3. Headlines- Raps
4. Crew Love (Feat. The Weeknd)- Raps
5. Take Care (Feat. Rihanna)- Sings and Raps
6. Marvin’s Room/ Buried Alive Interlude- Sings and Raps
7. Under Ground Kings- Raps
8. We’ll Be Fine- Raps
9. Make Me Proud (Feat. Nicki Minaj)- Raps
10. Lord Knows (Feat. Rick Ross)- Raps
11. Cameras / Good Ones Go Interlude- Raps
12. Doing It Wrong (Feat. Stevie Wonder)- Sings
13. The Real Her Ft. Lil Wayne x Andre 3000) – Sings
14. HYFR (Hell Ya Fuckin Right) (Feat. Lil Wayne)- Raps
15. Look What You’ve Done- Raps
16. Practice (aka Back That Ass Up)- Raps and Sings

Now onto the categories:

  1. Best Feature on the album:

The album features The Weeknd, Rihanna, Nicki Minaj, Rick Ross, Stevie Wonder, Andre 3000, Weezy, and a few words from Birdman. Just because he’s Stevie Wonder I want to say Stevie Wonder, but I know ya’ll want to to know who has the best verse so hands down that award goes to Rick Ross on “Lord Knows.”

     2. Worst Feature on the album:

Now I could look at this 2 ways, and unfortunately the 2 females are both up for nomination in this category. Rihanna is up for it because her song is too typical Rihanna, I want something else from her and Drake, I was just disappointed I wanted something more to blow me away but it was just eh. Next up Mizz Minaj…now I love when you go all Roman Zolanski on a verse, but on this feature you only go half Roman. So i’m sorry to break it to you but no one wants to hear a bi-polar verse, go all the way or just don’t do it at all I was bored during the song. Despite both RiRi and Nicki’s mediocre features neither of them upset me as much as Andre 3000’s verse. SMH I am the biggest Outkast fan I love everything they both do, so when I heard Andre was being featured on a track I was thrilled, imagine my disappointment when I actually heard the track. I don’t know if he was trying to sound like Drake or what, but it was so monotone and dull I couldn’t even believe it was Andre 3000. My advice to all 3 of these…please go hard or just go home.

     3. Bruh Bruh Anthem Of The Album-

We all know that the males and females tend not to see eye to eye on an album’s best song so i’m just going to break it down and give you the best song for men and for females on the album. First up, since I know Aubs loves his bros so much is the top song for dudes. It came down to 2 tracks for me, first “Underground Kings” I can see the Bruhs liking this joint because the lyrics are all about bitches, fame, and money. Drizzy gets real cocky on this dope ass beat (which we can thank producer T-minus for the melodic guitar chimes over the steady bass) and what real bro doesn’t love to sing along with lyrics that make him sound like the man? The 2nd track I can already hear boys blowing out their Acura speakers playing is “Lord Knows.” I have a lot to say about this song, but I’m going to save some of that when I get to my section on Just Blaze, so far now i’ll just touch on the fact that Just Blaze brought the God damn fire when he made this beat! Then throw a little Rozay in there to bring a little gritty gully swag to the song what dude wont bump this song?

     4. Drizzy’s Track That Brings All The Girls To The Yard-

Surprisingly it was a lot harder to pick a song for the men on this album than the ladies, which surprised me. I think Aubs really tried to reach out to his male audience more on this album ( I mean he really already has most of the ladies on lock so I think that was a smart decision from his camp) I really don’t think I even need to go into detail on why I picked the track I did, but for all you clueless boys out there i’ll give you some insider knowledge. “Crew Love” hands down for me was the track that will be playing in bedrooms and cars all over when boys are trying to seduce their girl. I mean you add The Weeknd to any track and it’s automatically a baby-making anthem…enough said.

     5. Radio Spin Track- 

Taking out the songs that have already had radio time, I think that choosing the most mainstream and radio friendly songs come down to which songs contain the essential elements necessary for the radio, a chorus to which the audience can sing along, a tagline or “motto” that can be used outside of the song, and a song that can appeal to both men and women. For me (remember outside of the joints already on the radio) I would give this to “HYFR (Hell Ya Fuckin Right)” the phrase’s overuse throughout the song will make it easy for listeners to remember the name of the song, and having Weezy featured on the song will increase the audience requesting it. The song has a more electronic beat, which is huge right now, and Drizzy spits faster on this joint which will gives it a little more edge (lord knows with those sweaters Aubs needs all the edge he can get!).

      6. Lyrics That Will Be Tweeted and Re-tweeted-

“Know that I don’t make music for nig**s who don’t get pussy 

So those are the ones I count on to diss me or overlook me …

A lot of nig**s came up off of a style that I made up 

But if all I hear is me, then who should I be afraid of?”

Just watch…You can tell me I was right later.

7. Highlight Of The Album- 

So remember when I said i’d get back to Just Blaze, yeah well he won. His production on “Lord Knows” blew me away, I forgot Drizzy was even rapping. The choir feel mixed with the drums and thumping bass left me speechless (which NEVER happens) This is one of those songs that if anyone tries to argue with you about Just Blaze’s greatness and raw talent you can just press play and you win the argument. I think my homie Lowkey put it best after listening to this track…

LowKeyUHTN : Man will @JustBlaze PLEASE get back in with Jay. PLEASE.

8. Lowlight Of The Album-

When I heard Kendrick Lamar was going to be on the album I was impressed to say the least, and intrigued on how they would sound together. So imagine my surprise last night when i’m listening to the album and realize Lamar’s actual feature is an interlude attached to the end of “Marvin’s Room.” Yeah exactly, that’s like considering Birdman’s shout out on “We’ll Be Fine” a real feature, what were you thinking Aub? Use that boy’s talent!! Kendrick Lamar is extremely talented and people are starting to recognize that more and more so why would you throw him on the end of an interlude??? And Lamar a Rihanna reference? You’re better than feeding the blogosphere with that!

  9. Take Care has a few obvious themes:

When listening to this album in full be prepared for the following to be mentioned MANY times:

-Getting pussy

-Canada/Toronto

-Cocky Lyrics

-OVOXO & YOLO

-Low thumping beats, steady bass, combined with a high pitch counter instrument

10. Overall, I would say this album is better than Thank Me Later,  Drizzy has grown as an artist and stayed true to his style. The album could have been cut down to 12-13 songs, it’s a little long. The album’s stand out feature is most definitely the production, Aubs has an amazing team behind him, and that combined with his talent and universal appeal will bring this album impressive sales. Drake did well the album will be on ipods all over, despite if you hate him or not you gotta dap him for this.

About jaimlou

Manager of Publicity & Artists Relations at LULU COHEN MEDIA

Posted on November 8, 2011, in 2WGZ Original, Blog, Music, New Release, Reviews. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

