2WGZ Spotlight: Niko Villamor

With a number of posts on YouHeardThatNew.com and undeniable talent I can’t believe this is the first time I’m writing about Niko Villamor, but I guarantee this wont be the last.

Niko Villamor, San Fran born and ATL bread, brings a unique and refreshing sound to Hip-Hop. His music combines his southern swag with that hella hyphy NorCal mentality so effortlessly I can’t believe it hasn’t been done before.

The smooth piano sounds and melodic beats found throughout his latest project, Inertia, can be attributed to growing up in a house full of Jazz and Classical music that quickly matured his ear for music and broaden his range far beyond rap music. This album reflects such music intellect and depth, from his lyrical vocabulary to the omission of repetitive mondane choruses, Inertia stands out above most indie mixtapes i’ve listened to this year.

The originality of this project really moved me, I asked Niko what influenced him when making this album and how he views himself as an artist, here’s what he had to say:

We are actually in tNo genres really influenced the tape too much, I listened to the smiths a couple times before writing. Pro (the producer of every song except the bonus Frankenstein) pretty much gave me the canvas and I painted it.

What I’m making right now is almost what I would define as anti artist in the typical sense. When I made Inertia, I didn’t go in with the thought process of “I’m trying to make hit records”, I just wanted to smear my current thoughts and feelings across the project. Not saying I don’t want to take my music to that level, I just plan on taking a different route.

Refreshing to hear right? Here’s the trailer Niko did for the EP

Niko Villamor-Inertia [Trailer] from Villa on Vimeo.

I’m looking forward to see what he comes up with next….stay tuned (download after the jump)

Download Inertia Here

About jaimlou

Manager of Publicity & Artists Relations at LULU COHEN MEDIA

Posted on November 22, 2011, in 2WGZ Original, Blog, Download, Music, Spot Light, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

